Return to Rolls-Royce:
Phantom II Continental Regular Edition.
Andre Blaize

Sort By::
Page of 1


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Comprehensive, definitive work on PII Continentals January 11, 2017
Reviewer: Neill Fraser from St Andrews, Fife United Kingdom  
There is little more to be said on the subject after this work by Andre Blaize. It supercedes Raymond Gentile's earlier work with a wealth of further detail and photos.

It would have earned 5 stars but for the fact that the portrait format of the two volumes means that important large side view photos are split over two pages and thus interrupted by the page break, making a proper appreciation of the design of the body almost impossible. A landscape format would have avoided this considerable drawback.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Gushing Fan Letter March 4, 2016
Reviewer: SCOTT BROWN from NY, UNITED STATES  
Dear Andre,

Hope you are well. I just have to write you a gushing fan letter on your Phantom II Continental book published last year. I just finished all 1100+ pages of pure pleasure.

For too long, major works on historic cars have gone down two paths.

One path is what I might call the Cluttered Archival Pile. The book is crowded with period historical photos (sometimes pinched to postage stamp size), charts, technical sections and old literature, and lots of lists at the back. There's useful research, but the book is not an aesthetic treat, and takes some time to look up the cross references. Even though the reproductions are not great, and they take a magnifying glass to see the details, the armchair enthusiast has to be content that some pictures have been published of the rare cars at all...

Another approach is The Art Book. This book is loaded with large, gorgeous, well reproduced pictures, but it's skimpy on the research information. The layout and organization too, is according to artistic whim. This makes for a great armchair treat but is somewhat frustrating for the serious researcher.

Your book takes a third direction: why can't a research book have great beauty and lavish picture content and yet contain all the information a researcher would need, laid out in a logical fashion, chassis by chassis? Your book is a pure visual delight, and I enjoy the mixture of old and new, black and white and color pictures which not only tell the stories of the cars over the years but are so much fun to look at. Looking information up is such a pleasure with your book. The layout is logical, simple, and clean, and the text is not overloaded. I love that you added some information about the models of Continentals.

It's just a staggering amount of work and scholarship on your part, and I congratulate you for it. I think it instantly sets up a new high standard for books of this sort and a model to follow. For some time, chassis by chassis information and history has existed in drawers and archives, but not accessible to the public in a logical and complete picture form. You’ve done all Rolls-Royce enthusiasts a great service.

There's a crying need for more RR books like this, especially on the following:
1.The rest of the Phantom IIs (and a very fascinating and diverse bunch they are),
2.The New phantom or Phantom I (with or without the Springfield Phantoms),
and 3. The Silver Ghost.  It would be especially interesting to see what has happened to a lot of the original chassis seen in the Edwardian Rolls-Royce book archival pictures. Those three books would really round out my library. I wonder if you're working on any of these projects right now? I am here to cheer you on!

Once again, my heartiest congratulations!

All the best,
Scott Brown

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
A Comprehensive, Informative Text with Great Pix February 20, 2016
Reviewer: John Silence is Golden  
op Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
A Comprehensive, Informative Text with Great Photos:
By John Silence is Golden on January 23, 2016
Verified Purchase
Over time I have acquired and reviewed a number of these Dalton -Watson and Dalton publications including "The Rolls Royce Continental Phantom" {reviewed 1/5/14} "Rolls Royce in America" {reviewed 2/14/14}, "Bentley 50 Years of the Marque" {reviewed 3/4/2014}, " Those Elegant Rolls Royces" {reviewed 3/11/14}, "Aston Martin and Lagonda" {reviewed 3/28/14 } and "The Legendery Hispano Suiza" {reviewed 8/12/14. The superb quality of their photos, information, binding, dust jackets and glossy paper make them well worth their sometimes hefty price tags. "This Derby Phantoms' publication is to equal if not superior to any of the above mentioned titles.

The book highlights the Phantom I , Phantom II and Phantom III Models produced at the Derby Factory in Britain and does not include the
American produced vehicles from Springfield Mass {see the above "Rolls Royce in America"}. Together the "Phantom" series of RR's represents the final flowering of the RR tradition of high quality "Damm the Expense" Engine Design / Quality chassis and coachwork excellence highlighting when RR truly deserved its moniker as "The Best Car in the World".

The technical information is extensive including {for each model} RR sales brochure information, the model warranty, specifications and RR policy and inspection information. There are very detailed contemporary descriptions / specifications of the engine / chassis / transmission the special engineering features / details and road tests / trials and driving impressions for each marque conducted by automobile publications - "The AutoCar" and "The Motor". For every Phantom produced there is a listing of every every chassis #, with type of coachwork, the Coachbuilder, completion date and who was the original owner - an interesting cross-section of aristocrats, politicians, captains of industry and a slew of Indian Maharajahs and princes. There are over 540 photos displaying an astonishing variety of coachwork from all the great British coachbuilders with Hooper, Barker and Thrupp and Mabely being my particular favorites.

As one would expect from a publication of this quality these photos are superb - each with a brief description / information. The copy that I received thru the Amazon website was flawless . This book is an outstanding achievement - an informative , high quality production that is totally worthy of it subject and I give it an enthusiastic 5 star rating.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Phantom II Continental September 5, 2015
Reviewer: WILLIAM CASEY from PITTSBURGH, PA United States  
A marvelous compilation of information and presentation. A true tracing of VERY important motorcars. An artful presentation of rolling art. Thank you.


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Rolls Royce Phantom II September 5, 2015
Reviewer: Jerald Cooper from Napa, CA United States  
Jean,
Thank you for the opportunity to express my thanks for the stellar job Dalton Watson managed in the production and delivery of Phantom II.  This is my second direct purchase from your firm and I could not be more pleased.  Both sets exceeded my expectations.  I must also compliment you on the attention you gave to the packaging.  I don't think the Mona Lisa could have been treated kinder.  My other purchase was the three volume Saoutchik work and it was delivered with the same measure of care and affection.  There is a reason Dalton Watson is the foremost name in quality automotive books - my two purchases prove the claim.

I had a short conversation with someone from your customer service dept.  Regretfully, I have forgotten her name.  She could not have been more pleasant and helpful.  Having someone that gracious and knowledgable as the face of your company just further enhances an already impressive reputation.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Rolls Royce Phantom II Continental August 26, 2015
Reviewer: Alfred Steenwinkel from Ter Aar, (-) Netherlands  
Excellent book for the interested. The best there is, although expansive.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
The Rolls-Royce Phantom II Continental August 23, 2015
Reviewer: Steve Stuckey from Australia  
An outstanding piece of research, profusely illustrated with photos from the 1930s to today, documenting each and every car. A superb production as well. Congratulations to the author in particular but also the publishers.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Rolls-Royce Phantom II August 22, 2015
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  
This is the kind of book project that I used to dream about when I was younger and the final product is everything I could have wished for. These two volumes are  absolutely outstanding in every way and are a tribute to the subject, the author, and the publisher.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
RR Phantom 2 book August 21, 2015
Reviewer: Robert Bailey from Kew, Victoria Australia  
Quality book well researched.

Was this review helpful to you?

  5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
 
THANK YOU FOR WRITING THIS BOOK!! July 27, 2015
Reviewer: Fred Buess from Sonora, CA  
THANK YOU FOR WRITING THIS BOOK!!  
You have done more than anyone since Henry Royce to draw the world's attention to these magnificent cars, and to inspire generations to cherish and preserve them.

For the first time in history every Phantom II Continental has been highlighted with photographs and information spanning its entire known history in a single book. This will have an enormous impact on the respect, attention and value that is placed upon these cars for many years to come. Every PII owner should send you a check just for the bump in asset value!

The previously unpublished early photos are priceless. I have wondered for 30 years what the original Vanvooren coachwork looked like on 164PY. It was beautiful. And notice the lines it shares with the Vanvooren body on Frank Cooke's 207AMS.

Thank you for those pages devoted to 2SK.  They will ALWAYS warm my heart.
Fred Buess, Sonora, California.

Was this review helpful to you?