Return to The Kellner Affair:
Matters of Life and Death
Peter M. Larsen
and Ben Erickson

Sort By::
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 A Different Angle on Automotive History January 9, 2020
Reviewer: David Soares from Santa Cruz, CA United States  
Dr Larson's father was a member of the Danish Resistance horribly mistreated by the Nazis.  When he uncovered the true stories of Jacques Kellner, who went from building frippery for the concours (illustrated in beautiful detail) to airframes for the defense of France, and Georges Paulin, designer of the streamlined "Embiricos" Bentley, he felt compelled to tell it in full and unflinching detail.  

Dr Larsen's research and documentation are impeccable, and his intimate and conversational storytelling style brings France's 1940 descent into Hell to life.  Some were brave, most were naive, more than a few were monsters, but Dr Larsen reminds us that it can happen again should we forget any of them.  

A warning: if you are a reader who is "triggered" by the Holocaust, this is not the book for you.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 January 7, 2020
Reviewer: Charles K. Driscoll from Williamsburg, VA United States  


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Kelner book review December 27, 2019
Reviewer: Maurice Richardson from Frodsham, Cheshire United Kingdom  
A most unusual book which is a combination of coachwork information and company plus individual biography in the context of the German occupation of France and the suffering of the company membership.
The narrative is fascinating.  For researchers there are images of company documents in French and German. To some extent, the information could be re-organised with advantage but it is never boring or confusing.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 October 21, 2019
Reviewer: Al Villaruz from Chester, MD United States  


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 The Kellner Affair December 27, 2018
Reviewer: Kathryn Kearny from Simi Valley, CA United States  
My husband was very thrilled with his Christmas gift!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Kellner Masterpiece August 6, 2018
Reviewer: Tom Clarke from United Kingdom  
The Kellner Affair is a magnificent package, a marvel both intellectually and visually. It's also very moving about the fate of Kellner and his comrades. At last they all get their due and recognition. I now have to read it in detail. Every page tells me - 'What a fitting monument to great men'.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 The Kellner Affair: Matters of Life and Death August 6, 2018
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Vancouver, WA United States  
A roller coaster ride emotionally, and an long needed research book about the French auto business and Kellner and associates.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Essential reading! August 6, 2018
Reviewer: Colin Musgrove from Warwick, Warwickshire United Kingdom  
A superb piece of work!  These volumes take us far beyond the realms of 'motoring books' into the horrors of the German occupation of France.  With the track-record of Larsen one expects scholarship, painstaking research and a host of new material on the subject.  In this regard The Kellner Affair in no way disappoints.  Had this work been merely about the artefacts of the House of Kellner it would have been a welcome addition to any enthusiast's library but there is a bombshell within!  Written in almost documentary style and having gathered an incredible amount of original documentation Larsen recounts Jacques Kellner's association with the French Resistance and Kellner's subsequent capture and execution by firing squad.  It's riveting stuff and Larsen pulls no punches, and neither should he.  In today's world of apologists and rewriters of history this story had to be told and Larsen tells it like it was.  The book is a masterpiece on many levels and is most thoroughly recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 The Kellner Affair March 28, 2018
Reviewer: Roland Hartzsch from Duesseldorf, NRW Germany  
First I have to thank for the title of the book. Had I known before that two thirds of the book examine in detail a couple of  Resistance Groups in France, I might not have bought it. I would have missed one of the best books I have ever read, regardless of subject. I am impressed by Mr. Larsons style: he did research what had happened, came to a conclusion, and dared to say so!
It surely is a sad story, and it is history, but the volumes read like a suspension novel.
The presentation of the book is Dalton Watson, i.e. perfect as always. I am also very grateful for all the matching black and white pictures, adding to the lasting impression given by the text.
The story about the development of the aerodynamic qualities and Paulins struggle fo get his last Bentley design right make also fascinating reading.
So buying this volumes you not only get fascinating reading about coachbuilders and designers, but read also about the fates of some real heros.


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 March 23, 2018
Reviewer: Stanley Dickison from Edmonds, WA United States  


Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items