Return to The Kellner Affair:
Matters of Life and Death
Peter M. Larsen
and Ben Erickson

Sort By::
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 The Kellner Affair: Matters of Life and Death May 13, 2020
Reviewer: Leslie Pointer from Billings, MT United States  
This is the best book we have read on the Resistance in France, relative to the coachbuilders' involvement.  Perter Larsen has done a thorough presentation of the facts  along with fair-handed analysis, immersing the reader in the dark waters of those times and, perhaps most bone-chilling of all, illuminating the slippery slope beneath our feet today, as ignoring the past condemns us to walk into the same quicksand edge of the abyss of oblivion.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 The Kellner Affair May 13, 2020
Reviewer: Robert E Ryan from STRATHAM, NH, NH United States  
I am almost through the first volume and find it extremely interesting historically. Having own a Pourtout bodied Delahaye it has given me great appreciation of the evolution of it's aerodynamic styling and the relationship of all of the people associated with Kellner.  It is an excellent book. Thank you

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 April 17, 2020
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from McDonald, PA United States  


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 The Kellner Affair April 9, 2020
Reviewer: Dominic A. Lombardo from Latham, NY United States  
The current world health crisis has allowed me the time to delve into this remarkable book . Well written and of top quality , the book transports the reader to a dark and fascinating time , and celebrates the complexity of the human condition . A wonderful addition to my automotive library.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 A Different Angle on Automotive History January 9, 2020
Reviewer: David Soares from Santa Cruz, CA United States  
Dr Larson's father was a member of the Danish Resistance horribly mistreated by the Nazis.  When he uncovered the true stories of Jacques Kellner, who went from building frippery for the concours (illustrated in beautiful detail) to airframes for the defense of France, and Georges Paulin, designer of the streamlined "Embiricos" Bentley, he felt compelled to tell it in full and unflinching detail.  

Dr Larsen's research and documentation are impeccable, and his intimate and conversational storytelling style brings France's 1940 descent into Hell to life.  Some were brave, most were naive, more than a few were monsters, but Dr Larsen reminds us that it can happen again should we forget any of them.  

A warning: if you are a reader who is "triggered" by the Holocaust, this is not the book for you.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 January 7, 2020
Reviewer: Charles K. Driscoll from Williamsburg, VA United States  


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Kelner book review December 27, 2019
Reviewer: Maurice Richardson from Frodsham, Cheshire United Kingdom  
A most unusual book which is a combination of coachwork information and company plus individual biography in the context of the German occupation of France and the suffering of the company membership.
The narrative is fascinating.  For researchers there are images of company documents in French and German. To some extent, the information could be re-organised with advantage but it is never boring or confusing.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 October 21, 2019
Reviewer: Al Villaruz from Chester, MD United States  


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 The Kellner Affair December 27, 2018
Reviewer: Kathryn Kearny from Simi Valley, CA United States  
My husband was very thrilled with his Christmas gift!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Kellner Masterpiece August 6, 2018
Reviewer: Tom Clarke from United Kingdom  
The Kellner Affair is a magnificent package, a marvel both intellectually and visually. It's also very moving about the fate of Kellner and his comrades. At last they all get their due and recognition. I now have to read it in detail. Every page tells me - 'What a fitting monument to great men'.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items