Return to Augie Pabst: Signed Edition
Behind the Wheel.
Robert Birmingham

Sort By::
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Augie Pabst: Signed Edition Behind the Wheel. Ro October 7, 2016
Reviewer: Philip Lampman from Sammamish, WA United States  
I haven't had a chance to read the book yet, but as a former bookseller, and collector specializing in automotive and motorsport titles I can tell i's going to be great. The high publishing quality of the book makes it look as if it cost more than $100. I expect this to compare favorably  to other titles like "The Cobra Ferrari Wars and Simon Moore's, "The Immortal 2.9".  Both Cugnot Prize winners awarded by the SAE. I'm looking forward to some quiet time with a glass of fine single malt Scotch just to begin reading it. Looks like a winner!

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Augie Pabst / Behind The Wheel August 12, 2016
Reviewer: Ross Hall from Upland, CA United States  
Great book well written with great photos. I ordered the signed edition but was disappointed to receive a pre-printed signature. I realize there is only 400 signed editions available but a personally signed edition would have made this book more enjoyable. I hope future signed editions from Walton Watson will not have pre-printed signatures. A book plate would be acceptable

***PUBLISHER'S COMMENT:

Dear Mr. Hall

I have just seen your review of our book and wanted to correct an error. All the signed copies were signed by Augie Pabst personally. We took the numbered sheets to his house in Arizona and he kindly spent a couple of hours signing each one. This would be obvious if you were to compare 2 different copies as none are exactly alike, and also we have pictures on our web site of him signing the sheets. The sheets were then sent to the printer who tipped them into the book during the binding process.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Augie Pabst Behind the Wheel August 3, 2016
Reviewer: William R Van Meter from Austin, TX United States  
Loved the book!!! It dredged many memories of my childhood and Sports Car racing in my past. I watched Augie drive many times at Meadowdale Raceway and while in the Marines, worked the "esses" at Riverside when Augie drove the stock car there. I did not know he was entered til I read this tome. This book rekindled the boiling motor oil that still coarses my veins!!!

Bill Van Meter
Former Salt Creek Sportscar  driver Triumph TR-3
Former Member, Chicago Region SCCA - Starter
Former member and Boardmember - VSCDA - Triumph TR-3 & Porsche 911SC
Now retired and Corner Marshall at The Circuit of the Americas - Austin, Texas

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Augie Pabst Behind the Wheel July 28, 2016
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Santa Barbara, CA  
A great account of racing driver Augie Pabst told by his close friend Bob Birmingham. Overflowing with amazing photos from Pabst's archives and many others. Great content and well written.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Augie Pabst Behind the Wheel July 18, 2016
Reviewer: Robert Pass from St. Louis, MO United States  
Excellent documented history of Augie as a racer.
Great pictures

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Augie Pabst Signed Edition July 10, 2016
Reviewer: Carter Emerson from Chicago, IL United States  
Because I was there at Meadowdale as a kid watching Augie and Harry Heurer in the Meisterbrausers, this really brings backs memories. I'm so happy that Augie is finally getting the recognition he deserves in your wonderful book. I collect car books and this is one of the best in my collection. I strongly recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Augie Papst: Signed Edition Behind the Wheel. Robe July 7, 2016
Reviewer: Daniel Wallace from Athens, OH United States  
Excellent part of that eras history. Helps one "connect the dots" along with other publications. I have attended "Millers at Milwaukee" the last several years, and have seen Mr. Papst driving one of the Thorn/Sparks cars. I became interested in auto racing in 1951 so this book fits well into my collection. Thank you.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Augie Pabst June 30, 2016
Reviewer: Richard Weldon from Westfield, NJ United States  
Excellent book. I watched he and my personal favorite, Walt Hansgen back in the day. Brought back great memories. Your service was excellent. Please contact me when Jaguar E type six cylinder originality guide is available. Thank you.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 pabst June 16, 2016
Reviewer: David Rex from Williamsburg, VA United States  
thanks for getting the books signed.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Augie Pabst - Behind the June 15, 2016
Reviewer: John Calhoun from Downers Grove, IL United States  
Wonderful bio of a Midwest motorsports legend of the '60s.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items